Brevity is the soul of wit

So was Bill right? I certainly agree that it is the soul of effective communication in a ‘working’ environment. I have been watching Ripper Street on BBC and although I have some misgivings about the authenticity of the environment (a little ‘clean’ my partner correctly observed) and also harbour doubts about the grafting of CSI storylines onto a period drama – I like it. I mainly enjoy the language being used. It is not olde English so much as a pared down version of today’s overly verbose prattling. An example I particularly enjoyed follows; “I cannot watch from close this man, for he has had sight of me before”. Elegant, economic and direct – something that would greatly enhance international business meetings that I sit in….

Leave a Reply

